Ryan Hanson’s The Quarry wins A&E Short Filmmakers Award

The Quarry

The Quarry directed by Ryan Hanson from Nepean, ON, is the latest winner of the $2,500 A&E Short Filmmakers Award in the NSI Online Short Film Festival run by the National Screen Institute – Canada (NSI).

In The Quarry a girl’s last day with her best friend Charlie, 12, becomes memorable for the wrong reason. The Quarry was written, directed and produced by Ryan Hanson – also an alumnus of NSI’s short film training program, NSI Drama Prize.

Jury members had this to say about the film:

Wanda vanderStoop: Sensitive, terrifying, melancholy and poignantly beautiful, The Quarry illustrates the definitive moments that take us from our childlike understanding of the world, to the complex experience of ‘growing up.’

Juan Riedinger: The Quarry is an honest film that vividly captures the innocence and awkwardness of early adolescence. It’s a beautifully crafted short, and it’s inspiring to know that strong films like this are coming out of Canada. Congrats to all involved!

Michael Ghent: The Quarry achieves the goals of great short filmmaking – innovative style, compelling story, solid performances and a thoroughly engaging viewer experience.

Writer/director/producer Ryan Hanson says, “I was checking my email at work and was speechless when I read about winning the A&E Short Filmmakers Award.

I couldn’t think of a better place to find out about it. You work these “real” jobs while trying to pursue your passion and there was no better message to keep moving me forward and letting me know that I’m on the right track.

The NSI Online Short Film Fest is such a great chance to be seen and I was grateful to be part of it. Hopefully my next short will be accepted too. I’ll be applying for NSI Features First next year and this award will help me pay the tuition.”

About the director: Ryan Hanson

Ryan HansonRyan Hanson wrote and directed the NSI Drama Prize short film The Curiosity of Penny Parker which has played at many festivals worldwide and was awarded first place in the KidsEye program at the 2009 Rhode Island International Film Festival. Penny Parker has also aired on CBC’s Northern Reflections program.

Ryan is also a graduate of the Vancouver Film School’s Film Production program. In 2006, he was awarded Best Cinematographer at the BC Student Film Festival for his work on the film The Shade.

The Quarry is Ryan’s second short film and was awarded a production grant from the Ontario Arts Council. It is currently doing the festival circuit.

Right now, Ryan is in pre-production on his third short film, The Escapement, and is also in the script phase of his first feature, Lilium, which he wrote with Daniel Warth.

Honourable mentions were given to two other films: The Red Hood by NSI alumni Danishka Esterhazy and Polly Washburn, and Four Sisters by Wanda Nolan, Dana Warren and Lynn Andrews.

About the jury

Wanda vanderStoop is the distribution director of Vtape. She provides continuing support to Vtape’s artists, promoting over 5,000 independent productions to worldwide markets including museums, national and international festivals, broadcasters, educational institutions and mobile platforms. Wanda is a committed advocate for artist’s rights and fees and contributes to a policy consultation process on the changing methods of dissemination in video and new media

Juan Riedinger, a graduate of the University of Calgary theatre program, is an award-winning actor and filmmaker based out of Vancouver, BC. He is a two-time recipient of the A&E Short Filmmaker’s Award and constantly splits his time between acting and directing.

Michael Ghent has over 15 years experience in the film/TV industry, including development and production executive for Canwest Global Broadcasting and creative director of the Vancouver International Film Festival’s Film and TV Forum. Michael won a Gemini Award for Best Documentary series Global Currents in 2007. Long active in the filmmaking community, Michael was a Canadian Images programmer for the Vancouver International Film Festival, festival director for Moving Pictures; Canadian Films on Tour and a publicist for the NFB/ONF.

NSI is proud to acknowledge the continued support of A&E Television Networks in the funding of the A&E Short Filmmakers Award. As a founding sponsor of the NSI Online Short Film Festival and through this prestigious award, A&E has shown their commitment to the growth of Canadian filmmakers and the development of quality film.

The NSI Online Short Film Festival has been made possible through the support of Presenting Sponsor Shaw Media, A&E Television Networks which has generously funded the A&E Short Filmmakers Award and Supporting Sponsor Netflix.

The NSI Online Industry Centre has been made possible in part through the support of Presenting Sponsor Telefilm Canada. We also gratefully acknowledge the financial contributions of our Supporting Sponsors: Rogers and Shaw Media.

All media enquiries

Lauren MacDiarmid, Communications & Programs Coordinator
Tel: 204.957.2999 or email: lauren.macdiarmid@nsi-canada.ca

One comment

  1. Pingback: Four Sisters receives honourable mention for the A&E Short Filmmakers Award! « Four Sisters

Leave a comment