NSI grads and their projects rack up over two dozen Canadian Screen Award nominations


Nominations have been announced for the first Canadian Screen Awards, a new event run by The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television that replaces the Genie and Gemini awards and honours achievements in Canadian film, television and digital media.

The award ceremony, hosted by Martin Short, airs live on CBC Sunday, March 3.

Check out the NSI grads and projects with nominations – congratulations to all!

Less Than Kind

Developed through NSI Totally Television by Chris Sheasgreen and Marvin Kaye.

  • The Bell Media Award for Best Comedy Program or Series
  • Best Direction in a Comedy Program or Series – Kelly Makin
  • Best Picture Editing in a Comedy, Variety or Performing Arts Program or Series – Craig Webster
  • Best Writing in a Comedy Program or Series – Jenn Engels, Mark McKinney (nominated twice in this category)
  • Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Comedic Role – Wendel Meldrum
  • Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Supporting Role or Guest Role in a Comedic Series – Benjamin Ayres, Tyler  Johnson and Ross McMillan

Todd & The Book of Pure Evil

Developed through NSI Totally Television by Anthony Leo, Craig David Wallace and Charles Picco

  • Best Direction in a Comedy Program or Series – Craig David Wallace
  • Best Costume Design – Heather Neale
  • Best Photography in a Comedy Program or Series – Michael Marshall
  • Best Writing in a Comedy Program or Series – Charles Picco
  • Best Achievement in Casting – Sara Kay, Jim Heber, Jenny Lewis
  • Best Sound in a Comedy, Variety or Performing Arts Program or Series – Mark Gingras, Elma Bello, Katie Halliday, Stan  Mak, Rudy Michael, Brad Thornton and Marilee Yorston

Wapos Bay: Long Goodbyes

Wapos Bay: The Series was developed through NSI Totally Television by Dennis Jackson and Anand Ramayya.

  • Best Writing in a Children’s or Youth Program or Series – Dennis Jackson, Melanie Jackson (NSI Storytellers)

Other nominations

  • Best Dramatic series: King – Greg Spottiswood (NSI Drama Prize); Bomb Girls – Michael MacLennan (NSI Drama Prize)
  • Best Science or Nature Documentary Program or Series: Smarty Plants – Merit Jensen Carr (NSI Global Marketing)
  • Best Direction in a Dramatic Program or Mini-Series: The Pastor’s Wife – Norma Bailey (NSI Totally Television)
  • Best Children’s or Youth Fiction Program or Series: What’s Up Warthogs? – Anthony Leo (NSI Totally Television, NSI Global Marketing)
  • Best History or Biography Documentary Program or Series: Darkness and Hope: Depression, Sports and Me – Sandra Picheca (NSI Drama Prize)
  • Best Reality/Competition Program: The Real Housewives of Vancouver – Erin Haskett (NSI Drama Prize)
  • Achievement In Film Direction: Goon – Michael Dowse (NSI Drama Prize)

• • •

Got alumni news?

If you're an NSI graduate with news to share about your latest project, get in touch and we'll get the word out on our website in alumni news, and social channels.

• • •

Keep the story going and donate today

At NSI, we’re passionate about nurturing storytellers because stories connect us all.

Please consider a donation to support our talented students as part of your charitable giving. Big or small, your gift will provide value-added essentials that enhance their training experience.

Tax receipts are issued for all gifts. Thank you for considering a donation.

Leave a comment