They Wore Pink, Late and Pop Switch win cash awards in NSI Online Short Film Festival

The National Screen Institute – Canada (NSI) doled out the latest round of awards in its NSI Online Short Film Festival last week.

They Wore Pink, directed by Terry Miles, won the $1,250 A&E Short Filmmakers Award for best film; Ben Cotton and Sarah Deakins won the $1,000 Brian Linehan Actors Award for their work on Late; and Pop Switch, directed by Jason R. Goode, won the $750 Bite Comedy Award for best comedy. All winners also receive a complimentary Friend membership to the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television.

The award selection was made by an independent jury: producer Alicia Smith; programmer and producer Magali Gillon-Krizaj; and filmmaker Trevor Anderson, the most recent winner of the A&E Short Filmmakers Award.

Our jurors had this to say about the films:

A&E Short Filmmakers Award for best film: They Wore Pink

Alicia Smith: “We choose They Wore Pink for its skilled execution of the short form, and for its impressive scope, pace and denouement.”

Magali Gillon-Krizaj: “Entertaining! Visually interesting and overall well-executed with strong performances and an amazing script that keeps you intrigued.”

Trevor Anderson: “Beautifully calibrated performances, assured direction and an elegant script (kangaroos!) anchor this quiet, confident short film that gives us just enough information to imagine a larger world beyond the edges of its frame.”

Director Terry Miles said: “Thanks so much to NSI, the jury and A&E for generously supporting independent filmmakers with this award. It’s great to see so many of my friends on the list of previous winners. I’m proud to be counted among them. Every cent of this prize will be going straight onto the screen for my next film.”

Brian Linehan Actors Award for best actor: Ben Cotton and Sarah Deakins for Late

*Note: the jury wanted this award to be shared by these two actors. Actor Sarah Deakins was also the screenwriter for Late and Jason R. Goode was the director.

Alicia: “Ben Cotton and Sarah Deakins stood out for their engaging performances capturing the ease by which we tend to make instant, fleeting connections with strangers.”

Magali: “Perfect dynamic and balance between the two actors which makes the delivery so real and believable. You forget you’re watching a short film and not real life at the coffee shop.”

Trevor: “Note-perfect performances from two actors working together to remain authentic and engaged. I believed, and loved, every subtle, specific beat.”

Ben Cotton said: “I am honoured and grateful to receive this award, and to share it with Sarah. I had such a wonderful time working on this film with her and of course Jason Goode and Dylan Jenkinson. So thank you very much!”

Sarah Deakins said: “What lovely news to learn of this award (thank you!). Working with Jason Goode and Dylan Jenkinson on Late was a joy. I’m always grateful to learn the film is connecting with people. I was incredibly lucky to work opposite acting partner Ben Cotton who lifted the words I had written off the page so effortlessly. Sharing the Brian Linehan Actors Award with him is an honour. Brian’s commitment to promoting Canadian talent through its foundation makes this award even more meaningful. I remember Brian as a person with integrity and style. I am truly honoured to accept this award named after him.”

Bite Comedy Award for best comedy: Pop Switch

Alicia: “Though not a roll-in-the-aisles-laughing comedy, we chose Pop Switch for its subtle, authentic comedic timing and execution.”

Magali: “Definitely on the darker side of comedy. This film was very engaging from the start and so subtle with its humour. There’s a beautiful realness to the characters and life story. It reminds us to ‘be careful for what we wish for.’ Life is full of irony.”

Trevor: “A lovely, human comedy that finds its gentle humour in the truth of its characters.”

Director Jason R. Goode said: “The whole Pop Switch team is so pleased to be honoured with the Bite Comedy Award from the NSI Online Short Film Festival. I’d like to personally thank NSI for continuing to curate and promote Canadian short films, and the Directors Guild of Canada (BC branch) for the Kick Start Award that made this film possible.”

About the jury

Alicia Smith is a Winnipeg-based producer for the National Film Board of Canada.

Magali Gillon-Krizaj is an up-and-coming producer/PM in Vancouver. She has over 12 years’ experience in the film and television industry. For the past two years she’s been involved as a programmer and juror for short film festivals and awards such as VIFF, VSFF and the Leo Awards.

Trevor Anderson’s award-winning shorts have screened at major international film festivals including Sundance, Berlin and Toronto. The Man That Got Away (2012) premiered at the Berlinale where it won the D.A.A.D. short film prize. He is also a stage director, playwright and co-founder of the rock’n’roll band The Wet Secrets. Trevor is the most recent winner of the A&E Short Filmmakers award for The Island.

The NSI Online Short Film Festival is made possible through the support of Presenting Sponsor Shaw Media, Festival Partner Telefilm Canada, Supporting Sponsors Netflix, Entertainment One, Super Channel, Corus Entertainment, Blue Ant Media, Overall Best Film Award Sponsor A&E Television Networks, Actors Award Sponsor The Brian Linehan Charitable Foundation, Comedy Award Sponsor Blue Ant Media and Industry Partner Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television.

All media enquiries

Laura Friesen, Communications Coordinator
Tel: 204.957.2999 or email: