Alumni nominated for 2021 Canadian Screen Awards

Canadian Screen Awards

Congratulations to the alumni nominated at this year’s Canadian Screen Awards. The award show streams from May 17 to 20 on the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television’s website, Twitter account and YouTube channel. View the full schedule on the Canadian Academy’s website.


Best Motion Picture

John Dunning Best First Feature Film Award

  • Beans – written and directed by Tracey Deer

Best Animated Short

Best Short Documentary

  • Jesse Jams – directed by Trevor Anderson (NSI Drama Prize), executive produced by Alexandra Lazarowich (NSI IndigiDocs), produced by Alyson Richards (NSI Drama Prize, NSI Features First)

Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary

Adapted Screenplay

  • Monkey Beach – directed and co-written by Loretta Todd (Featuring Aboriginal Stories Program), co-written by Johnny Darrell and Andrew Duncan (Featuring Aboriginal Stories Program) and produced by Carla Robinson (NSI Business for Producers) and Jason James (NSI Totally Television)


Best Drama Series

  • Burden of Truth – executive produced by Eagle Vision‘s Kyle Irving (NSI Global Marketing) and Lisa Meeches (NSI Indigenous programs advisor, NSI Storytellers)
  • Cardinal: Until The Night – co-written by Gemma Holdway (NSI Totally Television, NSI Features First), co-written and executive produced by Sarah Dodd (NSI Features First), produced by Elise Cousineau (NSI Drama Prize)
  • Departure – executive produced by Ben Silverman (NSI Features First) and Jackie May (NSI Drama Prize)
  • Transplant – created and executive produced by Joseph Kay (NSI Totally Television) and executive produced by Virginia Rankin (NSI Global Marketing)
  • Vikings – supervising editor Dale Sheldrake (NSI Totally Television)

Best Comedy Series

  • Baroness Von Sketch Show – directed by Jordan Canning and Jeremy LaLonde (NSI Totally Television), produced by Jeff Peeler (NSI Global Marketing), edited by Mike Fly (NSI Drama Prize)
  • Letterkenny – executive produced by Mark Montefiore (NSI Totally Television)
  • Workin’ Moms – directed by Molly McGlynn (NSI Drama Prize), associate produced by Karen Moore (NSI Features First)

Best Animated Program or Series

  • Corner Gas Animated – executive produced by Virginia Thompson and produced by Robert de Lint (both NSI Features First)

Best Children’s or Youth Fiction Program or Series

  • Detention Adventure – written, directed and executive produced by Joe Kicak (NSI Drama Prize), co-written by Lisa Rose Snow (NSI Drama Prize), executive produced by Karen Moore and Lauren Corber (NSI Totally Television), produced by Ryan West (NSI Features First)
  • Holly Hobbie – written, directed and executive produced by Sarah Glinski, co-written by Alejandro Alcoba, produced by Anthony Leo (all NSI Totally Television)

Best Direction, Comedy

Best Writing, Drama Series

Best Writing, Children’s or Youth

Best Picture Editing, Comedy

Digital Media

Best Web Program or Series, Fiction

Best Web Program or Series, Non-Fiction

  • Canada’s A Drag – directed by Trevor Anderson, Steven Roste and Tamarra Canu (both TELUS STORYHIVE)

• • •

Got alumni news?

If you're an NSI graduate with news to share about your latest project, get in touch and we'll get the word out on our website in alumni news, and social channels.

• • •

Keep the story going and donate today

At NSI, we’re passionate about nurturing storytellers because stories connect us all.

Please consider a donation to support our talented students as part of your charitable giving. Big or small, your gift will provide value-added essentials that enhance their training experience.

Tax receipts are issued for all gifts. Thank you for considering a donation.

Leave a comment