Alumni recognized at 2021 LEO Awards


The LEO Awards closed out their three-day ceremony last night, celebrating artistic excellence in British Columbia film and television.

Congratulations to the alumni who took home awards.

Best Direction Motion Picture

Jessie Anthony (NSI Art of Business Management – Indigenous Edition) – Brother, I Cry

Best Screenwriting Motion Picture

Jessie Anthony – Brother, I Cry

Best Direction Television Movie

Aubrey Arnason (NSI Totally Television) – A Love To Remember

Best Cinematography Short Documentary

David Malysheff (TELUS STORYHIVE) – Listening To Orcas

Best Screenwriting Music, Comedy or Variety Program or Series

Sonja Bennett (TELUS Optik™ Local) – Letterkenny, “Scorched Earth”

Best Direction Youth or Children’s Program or Series

Nimisha Mukerji (NSI Totally Television) – Gabby Duran & The Unsittables, “Vortex & Night Train”

Best Web Series

Narcoleap – a TELUS STORYHIVE 100K funded web series from director and executive producer Kate Green (NSI Totally Television, NSI Lifestyle & Reality Series Producer)

See the complete list of nominees and winners.

• • •

Got alumni news?

If you're an NSI graduate with news to share about your latest project, get in touch and we'll get the word out on our website in alumni news, and social channels.

• • •

Keep the story going and donate today

At NSI, we’re passionate about nurturing storytellers because stories connect us all.

Please consider a donation to support our talented students as part of your charitable giving. Big or small, your gift will provide value-added essentials that enhance their training experience.

Tax receipts are issued for all gifts. Thank you for considering a donation.

Leave a comment