TELUS STORYHIVE in association with NSI

Angela Heck, Director, Digital & Strategic Initiatives

Angela Heck

As director of digital and strategic initiatives, Angela comes to NSI with a diverse background in screen-based production and industry development, communications and academia.

Prior to joining NSI, Angela worked with Tactica Interactive and the Winnipeg Art Gallery. You may also have met her at CBC, Whistler Film Festival, Quest University Canada or the National Film Board of Canada.

As an active volunteer she is the vice-chair of Jazz Winnipeg and has served on the boards of DOC-BC, WIFTV and the University of Manitoba. She holds an MA in political and cultural theory from the University of Victoria.

Angela is an alumna of NSI Features First.

Shelly Quade, Program Manager


As manager of programs and development, Shelly runs the NSI Features First course. She takes great pride in her role as facilitator, guide and friend to her teams. Her interest in script reading and proofing has brought even more enjoyment to her job.

Shelly came to NSI from Frantic Films where she used her research skills to delve into all areas of unscripted development. Considered a people person, it was a useful skill to have when casting developing show ideas.

She prides herself on organization and creative thought and particularly enjoys hearing other people’s stories.

Based on the east coast, Shelly represents NSI from her office in Halifax, always looking for the next story to be told.

Contact Shelly on 204-232-9755.

Joy Loewen, Program Manager


As manager, programs and development, Joy runs the NSI Totally Television course.

Joy is a passionate supporter of the production, promotion and exhibition of Canadian art and artists.

Having previously worked as a broadcast and festival programmer at WTN (Women’s Television Network), CBC and the Gimli Film Festival; program manager at NSI and On Screen Manitoba; and executive director at Freeze Frame Media Arts Centre for Young People, Joy’s specialty lies in mentoring, showcasing and promoting a diverse range of media projects and the artists who create them.

Joy is also an active volunteer with leadership roles in several Winnipeg non-profit organizations.

Her passion and commitment to supporting artists and emerging talent extends into her volunteer work as a member of the Yorkton Film Festival, Rainbow Stage board of directors as well as the Winnipeg Foundation’s strategic initiatives committee.

She has served as chair of the Balmoral Hall School Board of Governors and co-chair of the Yes, She Can! Dinner honouring The Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean. She is currently a civilian aide to The Honourable Janice C. Filmon, Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba.

Elise Swerhone, Program Manager


As manager of programs and development, Elise is co-manager of the NSI IndigiDocs course. Her extensive work includes the feature documentaries TuTu Much and Ballet High as well as several documentaries for CBC’s The Nature of Things.

She has made over 30 documentaries which have been shown around the world, including work for the NFB, Global TV, HGTV, Vision, National Geographic and Discovery US.

Her dramatic work includes Miss ManitobaNow & ThenThe Mayor of Odessa, episodes of Adventures of Shirley Holmes and the MOW My Mother’s Ghost. Elise is also an alumna of NSI DramaLab.

Kaya Wheeler, Program Manager


As associate manager, programs and development, Kaya works across many of NSI’s courses and helps run the day-to-day activities of CBC New Indigenous VoicesIndigenous Languages and Culture Documentary Project and NSI IndigiDocs.

Kaya graduated from the University of Winnipeg with a bachelor of arts in Indigenous Studies, and has been working within the Indigenous community in Winnipeg for more than 10 years. She has spent a large portion of this time working with Indigenous youth in many areas, including acting and storytelling for theatre. She has had experience both volunteering and working on film sets, and even had a small stint on the stage and in front of the camera.

Kaya is excited to be in a role that helps hone and amplify new and existing voices in the industry.

Associate faculty


Riley Beach
Maureen Bradley
Matthew Clarke
Chris Craddock
Robert Cuffley
Kevin Eastwood
Dean English
Mark Farrell
Mike Fly
James Genn
Barbara Hager
Stephen Hegyes
Wendy Hyman
Nicholas Humphries
Dennis Jackson
Ava Karvonen
Karen Lam
Sharon McGowan
Leah Mallen
Gary Marcuse
Joe Novak
Rudy Thauberger
Peggy Thompson
Kim Todd
Andrew Williamson