Participants announced for 2022 edition of CBC New Indigenous Voices

CBC New Indigenous Voices 2022

Rachel Young

Outreach and Engagement Lead

Top row L-R: Kesha Tipewan, Jesse Nobess, Katherine Haynes. Middle row L-R: Dwayne Noon, Alyssa Isaac, Broden Halcrow-Ducharme. Bottom row L-R: Julianna Maggrah, Clay Mykietowich, Farrah Murdock.

Today, nine emerging Indigenous creators embark on their first day of training through the CBC New Indigenous Voices program, presented by the National Screen Institute.

CBC New Indigenous Voices is a full-time, 14-week online training program for emerging Indigenous creators to learn the essential elements of working in the film, TV and digital media industries.

The National Screen Institute is proud to introduce this year’s participants:

Read more about this year’s participants.

“I’m thrilled to kick off this edition of CBC New Indigenous Voices with this talented group,” says program manager Sarah Simpson-Yellowquill. “I love the different levels of experience everyone brings to the table. It’s always an honour to watch participants grow as storytellers through this program.”

CBC New Indigenous Voices begins with a series of online training sessions featuring interactive group discussions, presentations and workshops. The program culminates in a final podcast project and a six-week internship placement. The curriculum is designed with traditional and spiritual elements, and participants are paid minimum wage throughout.

Previous internship hosts include Eagle Vision, CBC Manitoba, Kejic Productions, Winnipeg Film Group, Native Communications Society of the Northwest Territories and various film sets.

Faculty includes program advisor and alumna Erica Daniels (CBC New Indigenous Voices, NSI IndigiDocs and Manitoba Content Creators Development Accelerator), Indigenous training programs advisor Lisa Meeches (NSI Storytellers) and program manager Sarah Simpson-Yellowquill.

• • •

CBC New Indigenous Voices 2022 is funded by Title, Presenting and Tuition Sponsor CBC; Program Partners Manitoba Sport, Culture & Heritage, the Centre for Aboriginal Human Resource Development (CAHRD), Telefilm Canada; Indigenous Training Programs Partner Directors Guild of Canada; Industry Partner IATSE Local 856; Industry Supporter Film Training Manitoba; Service Sponsor Final Draft. NSI Core Funders are Manitoba Sport, Culture & Heritage and the City of Winnipeg through the Winnipeg Arts Council.

Share this

face book twitter

About the National Screen Institute – Canada (NSI)

Propelled by a visionary network of donors, private and public organizations, board members and staff, the National Screen Institute supports creators from across Canada to tell unforgettable stories. Through industry-informed training and mentoring in film, television and digital media, students and alumni find their voice and place on the global stage, inspiring us to shape a better world.

We are committed to training participants from a diverse community of voices including Black, Indigenous, People of Colour, women, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer or questioning and two-spirit (LGBTQ2S+), people with disabilities, those outside large urban centres, those from regional and remote areas and various religious groups.

Media enquiries

Rachel Young, Outreach and Engagement Lead

The National Screen Institute is supported by: Core Funders: Manitoba Sport, Culture and Heritage, the City of Winnipeg through the Winnipeg Arts Council; Benefactors: TELUS, Telefilm Canada, Canada Media Fund (CMF), Department for Women and Gender Equality (WAGE); Patrons: CBC, Creative Saskatchewan; Builders: APTN, TikTok Canada, Indigenous Screen Office (ISO), The Winnipeg Foundation; Indigenous Training Programs Partner: Directors Guild of Canada; Strategic Sponsors: Manitoba Film & Music, Bell Media, RBC Emerging Artists, documentary Channel, CBC Gem, Centre for Aboriginal Human Resource Development (CAHRD), Alberta Film Commission, Manitoba Arts Council; Industry Partner: National Film Board of Canada; Friends: Ontario Creates, Société de développement des entreprises culturelles (SODEC), Bell Fund, Stantec, William F. White International, Company 3.