2016 Canadian Screen Award nominations: 17 projects from 23 alumni

The Canadian Screen Awards nominations were announced today and 23 NSI grads made the list. Congratulations!

  • Best Dramatic Series: Motive – Erin Haskett (NSI Drama Prize) and 19-2 Virginia Rankin (NSI Global Marketing)
  • Best Comedy Series: Mohawk Girls – Catherine Bainbridge, Christina Fon (both NSI Global Marketing), Ernest Webb (NSI Aboriginal Cultural Trade Initiative, Featuring Aboriginal Stories Program), Tracey Deer (NSI Storytellers, Featuring Aboriginal Stories Program), Cynthia Knight (NSI Drama Prize, NSI Totally Television) and Tiny Plastic Men – Camille Beaudoin (NSI Features First, NSI Totally Television)
  • Best Biography or Arts Documentary Program or Series: Reelside – Raj Panikkar (NSI Features First, NSI Global Marketing), Chris Szarka (NSI Global Marketing)
  • Best Factual Program or Series: Still Standing – Jeff Peeler (NSI Global Marketing)
  • Best History Documentary Program or Series: Vietnam: Canada’s Shadow War – Merit Jensen Carr (NSI Global Marketing)
  • Best Lifestyle Program or Series: Buy It, Fix It, Sell It – Jeff Peeler (NSI Global Marketing)
  • Best Pre-School Program or Series: Odd Squad – Georgina Lopez (NSI Drama Prize)
  • Best Short Documentary: The Little Deputy – Trevor Anderson (NSI Drama Prize)
  • Donald Brittain Award for Best Social/Political Documentary Program: Danny – Justin Simms (NSI Drama Prize)
  • Best Cross-Platform Project – Fiction: Corner Gas: The Movie – Virginia Thompson (NSI Features First, NSI board of directors)
  • Best Original Program or Series Produced for Digital Media – Fiction: Riftworld Chronicles – Laura Perlmutter (NSI Drama Prize)
  • Best Writing in a Comedy Program or Series: Chris Craddock (NSI Features First) for Tiny Plastic Men episode “The Ex Factor” and Cynthia Knight (NSI Drama Prize, NSI Totally Television) for Mohawk Girls episode “Rez Balls”
  • Best Direction in a Documentary or Factual Series: Raj Panikkar (NSI Features First, NSI Global Marketing) for Reelside episode “Superheroes”
  • Best Direction in a Children’s or Youth Program or Series: Craig Wallace (NSI Totally Television) for Odd Squad episode “The One That Got Away”
  • Best Sound in a Comedy or Dramatic Program or Series: Dale Sheldrake (NSI Totally Television) for Vikings
  • Achievement in Visual Effects: Darren Wall (NSI Features First) for Borealis
  • Adapted Screenplay: Josh Epstein and Kyle Rideout (NSI Drama Prize, NSI Features First, NSI Totally Television) for Eadweard

Congratulations also to members of NSI’s associate faculty and board on their CSA nominations.

If we missed your nomination, let us know!

• • •

Got alumni news?

If you're an NSI graduate with news to share about your latest project, get in touch and we'll get the word out on our website in alumni news, and social channels.

• • •

Keep the story going and donate today

At NSI, we’re passionate about nurturing storytellers because stories connect us all.

Please consider a donation to support our talented students as part of your charitable giving. Big or small, your gift will provide value-added essentials that enhance their training experience.

Tax receipts are issued for all gifts. Thank you for considering a donation.

Leave a comment